Festivals in a time gone by…


Today, I my seat at office has been shifted from the outer bay, where I
was seating with the jolly good testing guys, to the inner cabin of
Design Team. It’s a bit small for five people to fit in with all the
heavy monitors (the good old TFT’s here do not support over 1024×768),
but it is alright as it will be good for all.
We got a new member of our family today. Guddu Bhai is now a proud
father (again!) with a baby girl!
I don’t know what to call her as of yet. She is the eighth kid in her
generation in our house hold and tally says: 4 Girls – 4 Boys! All my
cousins have got two kids each now and it will be a thrilling Diwali by
the looks from now.
Navratri in Vadodara is a rage! People in all those beautiful clothes
and the best of moods can be found across streets from evening till
early morning. I am planning to go and watch (if not play) garba while I
am here. Priyanka will be so not happy! LOL!
Last year we went to do Garba and Dandia at Indore. It was good fun and
we enjoyed pretty much there.
The festive season always gets me by surprise as now since I am so
occupied with office and family duties, I do not wait for them to come
or make any special plans as I used to do when I was a kid.
The surprise comes in when I realize that a certain festival is just
round the corner and how thrilled I am by the thought of it, without any
plans or preparations!
Priyanka and I will be visiting Sanawad this weekend for Navami as on
Monday we will celebrate Dussera. Oh! when I was a kid, papa used to get
me a new dress for Dussera and one for Diwali.
Any other time when I got clothes in a year were always when Schools
open and my birthday, that is in December.
So it counted to 4 tailor made shirts and trousers and one similar
school dress. I don’t think it was much after that I started wearing
readymade cloths out of fashion! I can remember that my first pair of
Jeans was also stiched by material from Ruf & Tuf.
A time which seems eternity from the life we live today.
I very often wonder about the small unspoken rules we had in the family
like this cloths one, I must say, 4 pair of cloths are more than enough
when all the day it was just a pair of shorts with a tee or half sleevs
shirt was to wear. The ‘New’ cloths, which are considered ‘New’ till
next year of their purchase, were only for special occassions like the
Festivals, Weddings and B’day Parties. Other wise, they lay in the big trunk in the bedroom, washed and ironed.
It all changed when I finished school. Now for college, there was no uniform and one has to look the best! Since then, I do not have a ‘Trunk’ with ‘New cloths’ which are ‘Washed and Ironed’.

Today, I my seat at office has been shifted from the outer bay, where I was seating with the jolly good testing guys, to the inner cabin of Design Team. It’s a bit small for five people to fit in with all the heavy monitors (the good old TFT’s here do not support over 1024×768), but it is alright as it will be good for all.

We got a new member of our family today. Guddu Bhai is now a proud father (again!) with a baby girl!

I don’t know what to call her as of yet. She is the eighth kid in her generation in our house hold and tally says: 4 Girls – 4 Boys! All my cousins have got two kids each now and it will be a thrilling Diwali by the looks from now.

Navratri in Vadodara is a rage! People in all those beautiful clothes and the best of moods can be found across streets from evening till early morning. I am planning to go and watch (if not play) garba while I am here. Priyanka will be so not happy! LOL!

Last year we went to do Garba and Dandia at Indore. It was good fun and we enjoyed pretty much there.

The festive season always gets me by surprise as now since I am so occupied with office and family duties, I do not wait for them to come or make any special plans as I used to do when I was a kid.

The surprise comes in when I realize that a certain festival is just round the corner and how thrilled I am by the thought of it, without any plans or preparations!

Priyanka and I will be visiting Sanawad this weekend for Navami as on Monday we will celebrate Dussera. Oh! when I was a kid, papa used to get me a new dress for Dussera and one for Diwali.

Any other time when I got clothes in a year were always when Schools open and my birthday, that is in December.

So it counted to 4 shirts and trousers, tailor made, and one similar school dress. It was much later when I started wearing readymade cloths out of fashion! I can remember that my first pair of Jeans was also stitched by material from Ruf & Tuf.

A time which seems eternity from the life we live today.

I very often wonder about the small unspoken rules we had in the family like this cloths one, I must say, 4 pair of cloths are more than enough when all the day it was just a pair of shorts with a tee or half sleeves shirt was to wear. The ‘New’ cloths, which are considered ‘New’ till next year of their purchase, were only for special occasions like the Festivals, Weddings and B’ day Parties, Otherwise, they lay in the big trunk in the bedroom, washed and ironed.

It all changed when I finished school. Now for college, there was no uniform and one has to look the best! Since then, I do not have a ‘Trunk’ with ‘New cloths’ which are ‘Washed and Ironed’.

Leave a Reply

